Tuesday, December 10, 2013

DIY Christmas Series / DIY gold starburst wreath / Gorgeous Shiny Things

I don't think that Danika from Gorgeous Shiny Things needs any introduction. She is a total rockstar, one of the founders of O'verlays, has the house we all want, and knocked this DIY out of the park. Girl crush!
 
Hi there A Creative Day readers!  I am Danika from Gorgeous Shiny Things, and I am so glad Eileen invited to participate in this series.  I am usually a pretty boring purist when it comes to holiday decorating,but this forced me out of my "same old-same old" balsam wreath rut.

Since I am known to paint anything and everything, I figured I'd give the basic wreath a go.
I also decided to marry it with my never ending love of the starburst.

You will need:
-a 16" wreath (real or fake) 
-a couple boxwood clippings
-8" & 12" wooden skewers (16 of each) -got mine at the grocery store
-1 or 2 bunches of gold foam grapes (carried at floral & craft stores)
If you can't find gold, get what you can and spray them.
-a can of your favorite gold spray paint 
-piece of cardboard cut in a ring to fit the backside of the wreath
-twine or wire to attach the ring
-hot glue gun
-8 peacock feathers (optional)
-ribbon to hang (optional)

Start by spraying your wreath & boxwood clippings (both sides) with the gold spray paint. 
You can also spray your wooden skewers at this time as well.
Once dry, tuck the boxwood into the wreath to fill it out.
Flip over and tie/wire the cardboard ring to the backside and wrap the ribbon through 
(it gets hard to do this once the starburst is complete).
 Pull the foam grapes off the bunch and stab them onto the ends of your skewers.  
Mark the cardboard ring into equal quarters.  This will be your guide as you start gluing.
 Glue your 12" skewers along these marks.
Now place (4) more 12" skewers  equally between the original four skewers.
Take the remain (8) 12" skewers and place them between the ones that are glued down.
Finally, glue the (16) smaller 8" skewers between all the 12" skewers.
You are done!
I added peacock feathers to mine so it would jive with my aqua door,
but you can embellish it with whatever makes you happy.
When the season ends, you can remove the cardboard ring and save it for next year.
Thanks so much for having me Eileen.  
Wishing you all a fabulous holiday season!

14 comments:

  1. This is stunning! The peacock feathers are the perfect touch!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love how the skewer spray gives it such a whimsical feel...so magical!! And peacock feathers...awesome :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Absolutely LOVING that wreath! So gorgeous!
    xo TJ

    http://www.hislittlelady.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Really really pretty! I love gold so this right down my alley!

    ReplyDelete
  5. So stunning! Love the feathers!

    dee@delolovesdesign.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Holy Moses this is amazing! I absolutely love Danika's blog, she's a genius.

    Champagne Lifestyle on a Beer Budget

    ReplyDelete
  7. Absolutely LOVE this!! It turned out great!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Good god. Now that is an awesome wreath!! Love it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...