Wednesday, December 11, 2013

DIY Christmas Series / DIY Russian Dolls / Leopard and Plaid

Brittany from Leopard and Plaid is an adorable blogger who has a great eye for DIY's, check out this glitter deer she did, its so fun! Oh, and her etsy shop is fab!

Hi everyone! I am so happy to be here. Eileen is such a fun girl and I always love looking through her archives to get inspiration. :)

I went through a phase a few years ago where I bought fabric ALL the time. I always feel guilty when I look at my little fabric cabinet, like it's just wasted money sitting there. When we decided to do a mostly handmade christmas, I knew I wanted to make some dolls for my daughter. It has felt amazing to be able to use what I have from my stash.

I decided to make some russian dolls because I love them. I made an account with Sew Daily to download this free pdf pattern. I didn't follow the instructions because I knew I just wanted a pattern to cut out the shapes.

What you'll need:
3 coordinating fabrics (no need for anything bigger than a 1/4 yard)
felt squares for head, hair and cheeks
embroidery needle and thread for eyes and mouth
pattern cut outs (see download link above)
sewing machine
trim/ribbon
tacky glue
scissors
batting
pins



First I cut out all the shapes.

After that I glued the hair onto the head so that I could guesstimate where to hand embroider the eyes and mouth. Then I glued on the cheeks.

The whole face was then glued to the scalloped collar and then set aside.


I pinned the shawl fabric to the main body and glued it to the fabric. After applying the glue, I made sure to spread it flat to avoid any bumpy lines because the fabric was pretty thin.

Then I glued on the scalloped collar head to the shawl as well as the trim. I turned the fabric towards each other and pinned them together.






Got out the sewing machine and took about 10 minutes (if that) to sew them together. Turned it inside out and admired her. ;)


Stuffed with batting and hand stitched the bottom.

Voila! I hope she likes them!

11 comments:

  1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE these!! I've never seen a diy anything like it, so am really admiring your originality and creativity. My wheels are spinning as far as which little girls in my life would appreciate these. Thank you for this very special inspiration! Sooooo cute :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. These are so cute! I would have loved to play with a cutie doll like that when I was little :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh my goodness Eileen these are so adorable!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm not big on DIY, but these are so incredibly darling. I might just have to get crafty one of these weekends!

    ReplyDelete
  5. So cute ! Thanks for sharing ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...